Review of Sunday season 2013

The Reapers Report

Review of Sunday season 2013

The Reapers Report

Review of Sunday season 2013
04 Oct
Review of Sunday season 2013
Posted by: Mat Armstrong
Year: 2013

Before I forget the season, which finished almost three weeks ago, I thought I would take advantage of Charlie's site to pen my thoughts of the Sunday season. No great surprise that the weekends have been a lot warmer and sunnier since we finished!

The bare facts of the season were - Played 17 won 7 lost 8 tie 1 abandoned 1(last game of season). Only one game was cancelled this season, which made a change. Above stats include the Spring Bank Holiday and midweek game against Nomads. James Bowler captained one Sunday game.

Rather disappointing that we managed to lose more than we won but the above results generally reflect upon the poorest season for availability I can recall in my time as captain(which is a long time !). To be honest the season can be summed up by the first game of the season when I struggled to get a team out and only in the end got 11 courtesy of a colt and his father playing! This shouldn't happen on the first weekend of a season especially when only one game was played on the Saturday. The availability was affected by the retirement of loyal glove man "Sidders", injury to seasoned Sunday performer Nick Clements, work commitments for useless Yusuf and Big Tom. Ageless Chris Lowe decided to mainly play Bucks over 65 cricket, albeit he did play twice and starred with combined bowling figures of 16/6/37/3 average 12.33. As always prior to June school exams and university affected availability. That said we were pleased to welcome back Raoul Cheema(more later),Mace the Ace and the doctor of swing, Andy"stumpcam" Aranaz played a couple of games for the first time for a number of years. Although they play their league cricket elsewhere, Cameron Jacobsen and Jamie Odell, played when they could. We welcomed a couple of new players this year, Ambar Moorthy and Tom Noakes. In respect of games played the main players were -

Me - played all 17

Chris Butler 15(not selected for Bowler's game)

Atif Amin 14 (not selected for Bowler's game)

Raoul Cheema 10

Joesph"Beamer"Blackett 10.

Owing to the retirement of Sidders it was always difficult making sure we had a keeper! Thanks to the following who donned the gloves on Sunday - Bally, Edward Sears, Jamie Kiddell, John Hewitt, Ben Ward, Thomas Wilding, Charlie Rodger, Marcus Shankland & William Cunliffe.

Awards and stats for the season

Batting

Highest score - 309 v Gravely Will B 140no, George Parsons 110no unbroken 2nd wicket partnership of 242. Against - 255 A Few Good Men also Wilkinson Way

Lowest score 135 v Fleet Street Strollers Against 79 The Exiles

Highest innings - Raoul Cheema 169no v A Few Good Men

Batting Stats

Raoul Cheema 10 innings 2 no 626 runs highest 169no average 78.25

George Parsons 6 innings 1no 250 runs highest 110no average 50

Cameron Jacobsen 7 innings 1 no 260 runs highest 64 average 43.33

Thomas Noakes 6 innings 2no 158 runs highest 43 average 39.5

Batsman of the Year & Player of the Year

RAOUL CHEEMA

Above figures speak for themselves, hopefully for the club's point of view he can translate these figures into top scores for the 1's in Div 2 next season. Sounded me out when he re-joined the club and advised he was available for most Sundays, which is always good! After beginning with two single figure scores Raoul never then scored less than 33. Highlight being two successive Sundays scoring a brilliant 169no to virtually single handedly win us the game, followed by 131 the following week, albeit in a losing cause. Both times batting the full 40 overs.

George Parsons

Another season of progression, good to see. Have played with George in the 3's and on Sundays for last 4 / 5 years it was only a matter of time before he became a first team regular. Obviously being coached at Harrow helps!

Cameron Jacobsen

Quality player now plying his trade at Henley. Maybe furthering his education in the Yorkshire leagues now he's at Sheffield University. Will have to see whether he returns as the Michelin man after tasting Tetleys and the other northern brews! Good spinner too, although not good enough to displace Butler as the senior Sunday filth purveyor !

Thomas Noakes

Made a good start after returning to regular cricket, scoring runs for both 3's as well as on Sundays also handy purveyor of flighted filth.

Bowling stats

Best analysis -

Me - 4.4 overs 1 maiden 15 runs 4 wickets - ironically first bowl of season, went downhill from there!

Thomas Allen(GT) - 23 overs 1 maiden 99 runs 7 wickets average 14.14

Ambar Moorty - 29 overs 3 maidens 119 runs 7 wickets average 17

Atif Amin - 31.3 overs 4 maidens 145 runs 7 wickets average 20.14

Me - 92.2 overs 5 maidens 456 runs 17 wickets average 26.82

Arul Appavoo - 49 overs 2 maidens 236 runs 7 wickets average 33.71

Chris Butler - 98.5 overs 7 maidens 481 runs 14 wickets average 34.35

Ambar Moorty

Good line and length bowler with nibble(according to Wild Thing)

Atif Amin

still reliable bowler when his body permits !

Me

Same as it ever was!

Arul Appavoo

Probably bowled best spell on a Sunday taking 4 for 27 v Gravely castling 4 of the top order with the left arm round angle.

Chris Butler

Developing the delay ball and doosra at 53 !

Most improved player of the year

Thomas Allen - GT - Cecil sucker

Although only playing four times, due to work commitments, 7 wickets at 14 and three innings 2 no runs 76 highest 52no average 76, are impressive. Just needs to improve his catching over the off season and try and play more on Sunday next season !

Sunday highlights

Tied game v David Smarts X1 - 247 each, what Sunday cricket is all about.

Last wicket partnership of 37 between me and Andy"stumpcam" Aranaz v Incogniti. Andy batting one handed due to a bad back scoring 18no!

8th wicket partnership of 74 between Thomas Allan and Arul Appavoo, GT's maiden 50.

Sunday lowlights

Capitulation v Incogniti, went from 144 for 2 in 21 overs to 163 for 9 in 28 overs.

Managed to be 162 for 7 v Braywood, who only had 9 players!

Verbal abuse of Caswell Butt by me from boundary in game v A Few Good Men. " Three strikes and you are out" is not called for on a Sunday! Lesson learned.

Player apologising for not turning up for a game and not telling me. Apology based upon me slagging him off in my Sunday report. I give you useless, and biggest waster of talent, the one and only Yusuf Quershi !

My concluding thoughts

Some of the senior players in the 1's and 2's, if you could play just one game on a Sunday in the season(or one more if you played v Gravely or David Smart's X1) that would help availability. Very disappointing seeing players I ask to play on Sundays and don't, freely turning up in the Bowler game! Obviously this doesn't apply to the few senior players who do play for me when they can - Bally, Wild Thing, John Hewitt, Ambar, Deano(apologies if I missed anyone).

Please if you don't, try and stay round for a drink or two after the game. Charlie made a comment about Sundays a number of years ago, along the lines of people have to go to work or ready for school. This is true but seeing as the majority of teams we play are nomads teams I often seem to be the only home player left in the bar with around 6 or 7 of the opposition. Indeed by the time I have showered and changed and returned to the bar more than half my team have regularly gone(and no I don't take that long) ! To be fair this has been the case for the best part of a decade, gone are the halcyon days of the late 90's when we regularly departed the club around 10-11in the days of a younger Mike P, Gilesy, Andy Az, James Crawley, Badger, Martin Goddard & others.

My final point on the playing side, which I have noticed a lot on Sundays this year, and funnily enough was raised by The Jesters, who beat us easily in the penultimate game of the season. Running! Between the wickets that is i.e. rotating strike and the taking of quick singles. On a number of occasions this year the opposition have run us into the ground, which really infuriates the bowlers. I'm 47 and still consider myself one of the better runners between the wickets in the team(on the few occasions I stay there long enough) . Our batters just seem to just defend with no intention of sneaking a quick single, which rotates the strike. If you call correctly and your partner responds 9 times out of 10 you will get home. The Jesters said our batters just seemed to be looking for the big shots and avoided rotating the strike !

Anyway that's all for me folks ! As always many thanks to the players who supported me throughout the season on Sunday. I hope you all enjoyed playing as I have always tried to get everyone involved.

Winter well and see you all in the pre-season nets if I don't see you before, unless I bump into you at committee meetings or at the club bar during the off season

regards

Matt Armstrong

The Grim Reaper

The Guru of Gloom.

The Cricket Club
Twitter

Latest News Articles

Training restarting at MBCC!
Training restarting at MBCC!

Hi all,

A message from coach Henry! The ECB is allowing us to…

Shabbir Mookhtiar - Jun 11, 2020
Online nets booking
Online nets booking

Training in the nets at the club is up and running again, at last. …

Shabbir Mookhtiar - May 28, 2020
Re-opening the Nets
Re-opening the Nets

Dear all,

We are delighted to say that we are now re-opening the…

Shabbir Mookhtiar - May 22, 2020
15th May '20: Nets update following ECB announcement
15th May '20: Nets update following ECB announcement

Hi All,

The ECB has just issued guidance on the use of nets for…

Shabbir Mookhtiar - May 15, 2020
2020 Season: Letter from the Chairman
2020 Season: Letter from the Chairman

MAIDENHEAD & BRAY CRICKET CLUB (Founded 1798)

1st…

Shabbir Mookhtiar - May 02, 2020
COVID-19: Update on cricket nets and pre-season
COVID-19: Update on cricket nets and pre-season

We are receiving a lot of queries about the effect of Coronavirus on…

Shabbir Mookhtiar - Mar 15, 2020
Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club A.G.M 2020
Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club A.G.M 2020

Annual General…

Tameena Hussain - Mar 01, 2020
Club Development Plans including Jubilee Changing Rooms
Club Development Plans including Jubilee Changing Rooms

Dear Members,

Spring is approaching us and the promise of summer…

Tameena Hussain - Mar 01, 2020

About Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club

The Cricket Club is situated in the beautiful village of Bray, Berkshire, on the banks of the Thames, overlooked by the Church of St Michael. The main ground is widely acknowledged as one of the most picturesque in the country.

Est. in 1798 and a member of the Morrant Thames Valley League, with three senior teams and a thriving colts section both boys and girls

Contact Information

  • Address: The Pavilion, The High Street, Bray, Maidenhead, Berkshire SL6 2AA
  • Clubhouse Number: 01628 622669
  • Mobile Number:
  • Club Email Address: cricketat@mandbcc.co.uk
  • Website Address: www.mandbcc.co.uk

Cook My Grub

Cook My Grub - Deliciously Local!

Cook My Grub is an online marketplace which offers a refreshing new way to search and order fresh, authentic and healthy home cooked food in your local area

Visit their website ×

Horse Guards

Horse Guards

Horse Guards revives heritage spirit brands, re-introducing them to modern consumers. This include their latest brands, Pink Gin & Wing Walker Rum.

Visit their website ×

Savills UK

The experts in local and international property

Savills offers a wide range of specialist services from financial and investment advice to valuation, planning and property management.

Visit their website ×

Wicket Academy

Coaching Cricket to build Competence, Confidence & Character

Wicket academy have designed their coaching sessions to meet the needs, wants and demands of junior cricketers, with a specific focus on developing competence, confidence & character in a fun/safe environment.

Visit their website ×

Tutortoo

Tutortoo offers bespoke, one-to-one and quality tutoring for your child

All tutors are handpicked, fully DBS checked and specialists in the subjects they teach. Operating in Slough, Windsor, Maidenhead and surrounding areas, and offering tuition to students of any age, in a range of subjects, Tutortoo is here to help your child.

Visit their website ×

Cliveden Conservation

We specialise in conserving, protecting and reinstating stone, plaster and decorative arts

Cliveden Conservation is an award-winning company and one of the country’s leading experts for the conservation of stonemasonry, terracotta, plaster, wall paintings and the decorative arts. The company operates three workshops in Berkshire, Somerset and Norfolk that are strategically positioned to provide conservation on both a practical and consultancy basis to different areas of the country.

Visit their website ×

Goyals of Maidenhead

Goyals is a schoolwear outfitters based in Maidenhead in Berkshire

Goyals is a family owned business that has been supplying school uniforms in the Berkshire and Buckinghamshire area for more than 40 years, including Maidenhead, Windsor, Slough, Burnham, Taplow and Marlow.

Visit their website ×

Louis Baylis Trust

Supporting local organisations and charities

Visit their website ×

Amazon.co.uk

Raise some money for the club by making your Amazon purchases through our site.

Click on the link below and it will take you to the Amazon site where you can make your purchases. A percentage of your purchase will be provided to the club at no cost to you, its as simple as that!!

Visit Amazon ×

Berkshire Cricket

Berkshire Cricket Ltd

Berkshire Cricket is the governing body for ALL cricket within the County of Berkshire and one of the leading non-professional Counties in England, recently enjoying substantial success on the field with both men and women's County teams.

Visit their website ×

Claires Court Schools

Claires Court School

Claires Court, an Independent School in Maidenhead, Berkshire, offers a unique education from Nursery to Sixth Form.

Visit their website ×

Club Details

Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club Limited Reg No. 03192424 Registered In England

Registered Address: Victoria Cottage, Grove Lane, Winkfield Row, Bracknell, RG42 6ND

Club Secretary - Shabbir Mookhtiar - Club Secretary

Material from this website may not be copied or distributed, or republished, uploaded, posted, or transmitted in any way, without the prior written consent of the owners of said content. Please get in touch with Club Admin for further details.

Privacy Notice

Under new laws coming into effect in May 2018, we need to provide you with certain details concerning how your personal data will be used and protected.

Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club takes the protection of the data we hold about you as a member seriously and are committed to respecting your privacy. This notice is to explain how we may use personal information we collect and how we comply with the law on data protection, what your rights are.

Names of data controller: Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club
Categories of personal data we collect
Our sources of the personal data: We obtain personal data from
Automated decisions we may take: None
Purposes for which we process personal data: The club will process the personal data for
Who we will disclose your personal data to
The legal basis for the collection and processing of your personal data is for:

administration and programme delivery:

that it is necessary to fulfil the contract that you are going to enter into or have entered into with us for dealing with medical needs: that you have given your explicit consent or in your vital interests.in all other cases: that it is necessary for our legitimate interests which are to build a programme to encourage participation in cricket and does not prejudice or harm your rights and freedoms.

Your right to withdraw consent

Where you have given your consent to any processing of personal data, you have the right to withdraw that consent at any time. If you do, it will not affect the lawfulness of any processing for which we had consent prior to your withdrawing it.

Location of your personal data
How long we will keep your personal data for

We will not retain your personal data for longer than is reasonable and necessary for the purposes for which it was collected. We shall retain your personal data for such time as you are registered with Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club as a member. 2 years after you cease to be a member of Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club or play an active part in the Club, we shall delete your data.

Your rights in respect of your personal data

You have the right of access to your personal data and, in some cases, to require us to restrict, erase or rectify it or to object to our processing it, and the right of data portability.

Our contact details

mail. Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club,The Pavilion, the High Street, Bray, Maidenhead, Berkshire SL6 2AA

email. cricketat@mandbcc.co.uk

phone. 01628 622669

website. http://www.mandbcc.co.uk

Complaints

If you have any concerns or complaints about how we are handling your data please do not hesitate to get in touch with the named person at the club. You can also contact the Information Commissioner Office.

Cookies

This website uses the following cookies:

Item Purpose More information
Twitter Features for sharing via Twitter, and viewing tweets by other people. Twitter Privacy Policy
PHPSESSID General purpose cookie Used within sessions ie login
Collect information about how visitors use our site. We use the information to compile reports and to help us improve the site. The cookies collect information in an anonymous form, including the number of visitors to the site, where visitors have come to the site from and the pages they visited.

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings. To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit www.allaboutcookies.org.

Security and data retention

We employ security measures to protect your information from access by unauthorised persons and against unlawful processing, accidental loss, destruction and damage. We will retain your information for a reasonable period or as long as the law requires.

Accessing and updating

You are entitled to see the information held about you and you may ask us to make any necessary changes to ensure that it is accurate and kept up to date. If you wish to do this, please contact us

Changes to our privacy policy

Any changes to our privacy policy in the future will be posted to the website and, where appropriate, through e-mail notification.

Contact

All comments, queries and requests relating to our use of your information are welcomed and should be addressed to Club Administrator

×