Reaper's SPL Review

A look back to the Summer of 2017

Reaper's SPL Review
23 Oct
Reaper's SPL Review
Posted by: Mat Armstrong
Year: 2017

Reaper's SPL Review It's that time of year again, as 17th September brought the curtain down on another season at Bray it also marked Reaper's 34th full season and either 23rd or 24th successive season as Sunday captain. 2017 brought a successful Sunday season for M & B, helped by the fact that 2 of the 3 abandoned games would have probably resulted in defeats. Availability on the whole was pretty good, aided by a core of around 5/6 players who played over 10 games but 46 players were still used in 16 games! From my own point of view it helped with the ladies having 4 or 5 games on the main square, thereby giving me a few Sundays off.

Statistics
  • Played 16
  • Won 9
  • Drew 1
  • Lost 3
  • Abandoned 3

The one drawn game was not surprisingly the only time game we play, albeit a good tight game nonetheless - M & B 244 Incogniti 239 for 8.

Amazingly M & B batted first on 14 occasions this season, which must be a record. Reaper batted first whenever he won the toss and the opposition seemed to put M & B in rather a lot.

Highest total - 284 for 4 v Gentlemen of Hampstead Lowest total - 89 v Regals first game of the season.

Average score 190 Largest victory - 214 runs v Gentlemen of Hampstead Narrowest win - 4 runs v Fleet Street Strollers(defending 274) Highest individual score - 122 Blair King v Gentlemen of Hampstead(only century of season) Best individual bowling - 8/2/24/4 Chris Butler v Royal Ascot.

Appearances( 5 and above)
  • Reaper 16
  • Thomas Allen 14
  • Atif Amin 13
  • Gunbarul 12
  • Ashley Becker 11
  • Chris Butler 10
  • Blair King 10
  • Mike Parkinson 9
  • Ambar Moorthy 7
  • Brain Dixon 6
  • Joe Blackett 5
  • Faisal Aziz 5
  • Kieran Grey 5
Averages
Batting (qualification 4 innings)

innings not outs runs average highest
Reaper 8 6 78 39 29no
Kieran Grey 4 0 134 33.5 77
Ash Becker 11 1 291 29.1 77
Blair King 10 0 290 29 122
Mike Parkinson 9 1 213 26.62 91no
Ben Ward snr 4 0 106 26.50 52
Gunbarul 12 2 231 23.1 65no
Joe Blackett 4 2 53 26.5 24
Faisal Aziz 5 0 114 22.8 70
Brian Dixon 5 0 112 22.4 48
GT 11 3 162 20.25 42
Tifler 13 2 194 17.64 47
Averages Bowling (qualification 4 wickets)
overs maidens runs wickets average economy best bowling
James Cunliffe 9.4 0 41 6 6.83 4.36 4.4/0/20/3
Sam Murray 3.5 0 43 4 10.75 12.29 3.5/0/43/4
Chris Butler 62.4 7 237 20 11.85 3.8 8/2/24/4
Reaper 47 3 180 11 16.36 3.83 5/0/30/3
Ash Becker 35 6 111 6 18.50 3.08 5/2/17/2
GT 77 9 379 19 19.95 4.92 5/1/18/3
Joe Blackett 34 4 102 4 25.5 3 10/1/25/2
Kieran Grey 22 2 108 4 27 4.9 7/0/31/4
Gunbarul 60.4 4 259 8 32.37 4.2910/1/40/3
Ambar Moorthy 43 3 217 4 54.25 5.04 8/2/23/3

Honourable mention

  • Cameron Jacobsen two innings 65 v Fiddlers & 79 v Incogniti
  • James Cunliffe, brilliant 59no batting at no 10 v Royal Challengers.

As mirrors the league averages the bowling is better than the batting, which is no great surprise considering the plethora of bowlers we have at the club. I think I'm right in saying only three centuries were scored over the whole season at the club.

Bowling dominated by the slow bowlers, Sunday spin twins Butler & Allen, bowling in tandem to the fore.

Bowler of the year

Easiest of decisions, Chris Butler, retains his title from last year. Missed a few games this year, only played 10 times. Went wicketless only once, started with 3 wickets in first game and never looked back, finishing off with another 3 in last game of season. A much better bowler this year, conceding far fewer runs and achieving an economy rate of less than 4. Another exclusive Road End operator, well bowled.

James Cunliffe bowled with flight and guile to well positioned fields on the two occasions he spun his web.

Reaper - only bowled in half the games and only bowling a full allocation once. Tended to bowl at the death, usual straight up and down with keeper up. Chief Road End operator.

Ash Becker, bowled with control at the start of an innings when he wasn't playing as a front line batter or keeping.

GT, junior Sunday spinner reaping the rewards of bowling in tandem with Butler. Economy rate a bit high, control the mood swings improve the averages and economy.

Joe Blackett generally opened the bowling and didn't get the rewards his bowling deserved. Only going at 3 an over when opening the bowling to attacking fields and against a few good batters.

Kieran Grey bowled well considering he had been keeping all year for the 1's.

Gunbarul, not as destructive as in previous years, due to a dodgy back. Still bowled a number of telling spells though.

Ambar Moorthy, will hopefully have more luck next year. Opened the bowling every time against a number of attacking batsmen. Not sure about that 7 - 2 off side split though Ambar?

Batsman of the year

A much harder decision, especially when the likes of the Reaper are top of the averages and only two players average over 30. After considered opinion the award is passed over this year, showing how everyone chipped in generally to build an average team total of 190.

Reaper - top of averages courtesy of 3/4 of his innings being undefeated. 78 runs is a vast improvement though! Started from first game scoring 18no, including one and only 6 of the season, having not picked up a bat since the previous season. High point being 29no and involved in last wicket partnership of 70+ with James Cunliffe v Royal Chargers.

Kieran Grey - batted higher up the order on Sundays, hard straight driving to the fore and always aggressive.

Ash Becker - admittedly against lower quality bowling than he is used to, but scored his first two club 50's and hence two career bests. Strong cover and straight driver and effortless runner between the wickets and scored runs at a fast rate. Again possibly benefitted as well from batting higher up the order.

Blair King - scored the one century of the season v Gents of Hampstead and a better innings of 82 v Fiddlers. Only 86 runs though in the remaining 8 innings for the opener, which will disappoint him.

Mike Parkinson - good to see Parks back playing regularly - proved to be a lucky omen for the Sunday team, suffering no defeats during his 9 appearances. Started with a bang with 91no, a career best. As always a strong driver of the ball through the covers. Threatened to start bowling again next season!

Ben Ward snr - reached double figures on each occasion. Half the time though gave his wicket away when set. Strong straight of the wicket and the flamingo cut.

Gunbarul - back to bowling more this season and batting lower in the order. Still contributed two 50's in his own inimitable way - strong mid - on and over cow, as well as driving through covers and pulls and sweeps to leg. Handy contributor of runs in middle lower order, as always.

Joe Blackett - again performed well in the few innings he played. Top scored with 24 in first game of season. Saw M & B home with 19no, coming in at no9 v Dave Smart's X1.

Faizal Aziz - one stand out innings of 70 v Fleet Street Strollers. Strong leg side player, although can score all round wicket.

Brain Dixon - didn't play as much this year. Scored a fluent 48 in his first game of season v Kensington on a difficult wicket.

GT - handy season with bat contributing 162 runs in the lower order courtesy of a batting lesson from Ascot captain James Wensley. Strongest down the ground and through leg. Helped win game v Royal Challengers with 25 at no 9 and earned M & B a draw in his final game of season with 42. Highlight though was an effortless 6 v Braywood into the net - an extended forward defensive.

Tifler - the rock at no 5! Finished season on a high with 47no, including, eventually, a six over mid-off. Accumulates in his own steady way. No scoring rate available or % of final balls he gets a single off !Always good for a batting crisis and there have been many of those this season.

Wicket keeping

The most important position in the team. Blair was the main keeper, I believe keeping in all the games he played. Brian and Kieran kept on a couple of occasions as did the versatile Ash. Needed to get Jim Sidwell out of retirement on one occasion - fair play Sidders you did well, taking an excellent catch off Gun and a stumping as well. Ben kindly stepped in for the first half of the innings in the final match of the season v Stage, with Ash taking over after he had completed his bowling stint.

Fielding

Traditionally a weak point of the Sunday team based upon the core of the team, too old and immobile! The fielding was boosted by the inclusion of Ash Becker, with the ultra safe hands and bullet throw, albeit he did drop a few near the end of the season, catching the bad Sunday habits. Mike Parkinson also added to M & B 's catching abilities. On the whole if was a slightly improved fielding performance.

Final award of the season is the main MVP award. The award goes to a player who has performed at consistent level throughout the season and therefore goes to one of the regular players. Main contenders:

Chris Butler - for his bowling throughout the season, averaging 2 wickets a game and an improved economy.

Blair King - Regular opening batsman and wicket keeper.

Gunbarul - Another reliable season in terms of wicket taking, runs and one of the few dependable catchers.

Thomas Allen - steady wicket taker and valuable source of lower order runs.

Ash Becker - Reliable, economical opening bowler, bowling tight spells and not getting the amount of wickets he deserved. Scorer of quick runs at this level, also leading run scorer and dependable catcher as well as fill in wicket keeper.

Most Valuable Player is Ashley Becker .

Well played Ash, it was good to have the overseas player regularly available on a Sunday. Hopefully you enjoyed the batting opportunities and we hope to welcome you back next year, probably with the Ashes, after Stokes' night time escapades are likely to rule him out of the Ashes.

Highlights

Looking back at season the main team highlight was the 74 runs win over Royal Challengers, coming back from 60/8 to post 173. GT 25 at no 9 and Reaper and James Cunliffe 69no at no 10 batting out last dozen overs to add 70+. GT and James picking up three wickets each to bowl opposition out for 99.

In general though most of the victories were by the bowlers restricting the opposition batsmen, quite often courtesy of the spin twins, and managing to defend average totals. Quite a few times the opposition looked as if they would win but a few quick wickets have turned the tables.

Finally a couple of thank yous, to end proceedings. To Brian Dixon for providing us with teas for 14 of our 16 games and to Pete Meade for umpiring on 4 / 5 occasions. Also to all the players who supported me and turned out for the Sunday X1 and made the 2017 season a successful one, especially to the core Sunday regulars.

Winter well you all. Hope to see at the Big Bash this weekend or at the club during the off season.

regards

Reaper



comments powered by Disqus
Senior Section
Twitter

Latest News Articles

Reaper's SPL Review
Reaper's SPL Review

Reaper's SPL Review It's that time of year again, as 17th September…

Mat Armstrong - Oct 23, 2017
Sunday XI v The Stage 17th September 2017
Sunday XI v The Stage 17th September 2017

M & B ended their Sunday season with a win to bring the curtain down…

Mat Armstrong - Sep 27, 2017
Sunday XI v Thames Valley Ramblers 10th September 2017
Sunday XI v Thames Valley Ramblers 10th September 2017

Fine late order batting enabled M & B to bat out their allocation of…

Mat Armstrong - Sep 27, 2017
Sunday XI v Taplow 13th August 2017
Sunday XI v Taplow 13th August 2017

A late cancellation by regular opponents, Chelsea Nomads, led to a hastily…

Mat Armstrong - Aug 22, 2017
Sunday XI v Nomads July 23rd 2017
Sunday XI v Nomads July 23rd 2017

M & B managed to win by 15 runs on Sunday whilst defending what seemed…

Mat Armstrong - Aug 01, 2017
Sunday XI v Incogniti 11th July 2017
Sunday XI v Incogniti 11th July 2017

M & B were pleased to host Incogniti once again, the club's longest…

Mat Armstrong - Jul 17, 2017
Sunday XI v Royal Challengers
Sunday XI v Royal Challengers

M& B recovered from 60/8 to force a victory by 74 runs in…

Mat Armstrong - Jul 17, 2017
Sunday XI v Kensington Bank Holiday Monday 2017
Sunday XI v Kensington Bank Holiday Monday 2017

Skipper Armstrong was blissfully unaware of the forecast for…

Mat Armstrong - Jun 26, 2017

About Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club

The Cricket Club is situated in the beautiful village of Bray, Berkshire, on the banks of the Thames, overlooked by the Church of St Michael. The main ground is widely acknowledged as one of the most picturesque in the country.

Est. in 1798 and a member of the Morrant Thames Valley League, with three senior teams and a thriving colts section both boys and girls

Contact Information

  • Address: The Pavilion, The High Street, Bray, Maidenhead, Berkshire SL6 2AA
  • Clubhouse Number: 01628 622669
  • Mobile Number:
  • Club Email Address: cricketat@mandbcc.co.uk
  • Website Address: www.mandbcc.co.uk

F.J. Lane Ltd

Windsor's oldest established builders, formed in 1917

The company primarily covers all building refurbishment's, maintenance, plumbing and heating installations to domestic and commercial properties

Visit their website ×

Goyals of Maidenhead

Goyals is a schoolwear outfitters based in Maidenhead in Berkshire

Goyals is a family owned business that has been supplying school uniforms in the Berkshire and Buckinghamshire area for more than 40 years, including Maidenhead, Windsor, Slough, Burnham, Taplow and Marlow.

Visit their website ×

Louis Baylis Trust

Supporting local organisations and charities

Visit their website ×

Stubbings Nursery

Stubbings Nursery Ltd

Stubbings Estate, Henley Road, Maidenhead, BERKS, SL6 6QL

Visit their website ×

Amazon.co.uk

Raise some money for the club by making your Amazon purchases through our site.

Click on the link below and it will take you to the Amazon site where you can make your purchases. A percentage of your purchase will be provided to the club at no cost to you, its as simple as that!!

Visit Amazon ×

Berkshire Cricket

Berkshire Cricket Ltd

Berkshire Cricket is the governing body for ALL cricket within the County of Berkshire and one of the leading non-professional Counties in England, recently enjoying substantial success on the field with both men and women's County teams.

Visit their website ×

Claires Court Schools

Claires Court School

Claires Court, an Independent School in Maidenhead, Berkshire, offers a unique education from Nursery to Sixth Form.

Visit their website ×

Marlow Cars

Marlow Cars

Welcome to Marlow Cars, we buy and supply prestige marques, specialising in Bentley. We stock over 60 prestige motors cars at any one time making us one of the largest independent in the UK, this includes Rolls Royce, Aston Martin, Porsche, Range Rover and Mercedes. Established for over 30 years offering wide model choice and variation, our extensive market knowledge, resources and customer care provides an unrivalled service.

Visit their website ×

Omega Electricals

Omega Electricals

Omega Electrical Services are an independant company that can offer a wide range of electrical services at any location throughout the UK. We are based in Maidenhead with a 2000 sq ft manufacturing facility that has easy access to both M4 & M40 motorways.

Visit their website ×

Degrees Of Comfort

Degrees Of Comfort - Air Condition/Maintenance

DOC Building Facilities Ltd (Degrees of Comfort) began in 2005. We have grown from strength to strength since then and believe our success is due to our commitment in providing high quality and cost effective solutions to our clients.

Visit their website ×

Building Materials

BuildingMaterials.co.uk - Building Materials, platerboard, Partitioning, Timber & Sheet etc

Started by Phil Lidgerton back in 2003, their Head office is based in Maidenhead

They specialise in the supply of building and construction materials to contractors and end users.

Working closely with some of the biggest manufacturers and distributors in the UK they give an unrivalled service to customers who require building products.

Visit their website ×

Exlers Garage Ltd

Exlers Garage Ltd - MOT Testing, Servicing Clutch, brakes & suspension repairs, Fault code reading and diagnosis, Air conditioning repair and recharge

Trading for over 100 years on the same site in Furze Platt, Maidenhead, Exlers Garage has established a reputation for quality workmanship and customer care second to none in the local area.

Visit their website ×

Club Details

Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club Limited Reg No. 03192424 Registered In England

Registered Address: Victoria Cottage, Grove Lane, Winkfield Row, Bracknell, RG42 6ND

Club Secretary - Tom Allen - Club Secretary

Material from this website may not be copied or distributed, or republished, uploaded, posted, or transmitted in any way, without the prior written consent of the owners of said content. Please get in touch with Club Admin for further details.

Privacy

Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club is committed to preserving the privacy of all visitors to our website at www.mandbcc.co.uk Please read the following privacy policy to understand how we use and protect the information that you provide to us.

By registering or on this website, you consent to the collection, use and transfer of your information under the terms of this policy.

Information that we collect from you

When you visit, register you may be asked to provide certain information about yourself including your name, contact details and credit or debit card information.

We may also collect information about your usage of our website as well as information about you from messages you post to the website and e-mails or letters you send to us.

Use of your information

The information will only be used by MBCC (Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club), MBSC (Maidenhead & Bray Sports Club) & MHC (Maidenhead Hockey Club), and will not be passed on to any other people or organization outside the Club without your express permission.

Your information will enable us to provide you with access to all parts of our website depending on your website administration rights. It will also enable us to contact you where necessary concerning club related information. We will also use and analyse the information we collect so that we can administer, support, improve and develop the Club.

In particular, we may use your information to contact you for your views on our services and to notify you occasionally about important changes developments to the website or our services. Further, where you have consented,If you change your mind about being contacted in the future, please let us know.

Disclosure of your information

Unless required to do so by law, we will not otherwise share, sell or distribute any of the information you provide to us without your consent.

Cookies

This website uses the following cookies:

Item Purpose More information
Twitter Features for sharing via Twitter, and viewing tweets by other people. Twitter Privacy Policy
PHPSESSID General purpose cookie Used within sessions ie login
Collect information about how visitors use our site. We use the information to compile reports and to help us improve the site. The cookies collect information in an anonymous form, including the number of visitors to the site, where visitors have come to the site from and the pages they visited.

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings. To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit www.allaboutcookies.org.

Security and data retention

We employ security measures to protect your information from access by unauthorised persons and against unlawful processing, accidental loss, destruction and damage. We will retain your information for a reasonable period or as long as the law requires.

Accessing and updating

You are entitled to see the information held about you and you may ask us to make any necessary changes to ensure that it is accurate and kept up to date. If you wish to do this, please contact us

Changes to our privacy policy

Any changes to our privacy policy in the future will be posted to the website and, where appropriate, through e-mail notification.

Contact

All comments, queries and requests relating to our use of your information are welcomed and should be addressed to Club Administrator

×